Big Damn Heroes

After reading a post by Ace on the feminine need for pain and suffering — whether externally or internally sourced — I was feeling pretty low.  The question you ask yourself is why?  It’s the same question the beta asks himself after a breakup:  We had a good thing going.  Why’d you have to go crazy?  It’s the same question a self-aware woman asks herself:  why do I shit-test?  It’s the question a newbie to the manosphere asks himself: why do I have to become a jerk to attract women?

Here’s the answer, I realized: because women are crazy.

I don’t mean that in a throw-my-hands-up, aw-shucks, whaddya-gonna-do way.  I mean destructively crazy, prone to doing things that cause ruin and suffering:

And thinking about this, I got pissed.  How many nice girls dating douchebags, and becoming like them?  How many men checking out?  How many abortions?  How many families delayed or prevented?  How many unhappy women?  How many unhappy men?  How many lies peddled by popular culture?  How many years of adolescent angst extended into adulthood?  How many condoms in the landfill?  And any of it for any redeeming purpose?

And in the midst of my anger and frustration, I gained conviction: the world is crazy, and I am not.

As long as I’ve been around these parts, I guess I’ve been waiting for the world to “get it,” eliminate feminism, yada yada.  “Oh, sure, I’m part of what almost amounts to a persecuted religious sect at the moment,” I thought subconsciously.  “But someday reality will assert itself, and…”

Now I realize: sure, reality will assert itself someday in the future, in terror and smoke.   But you can’t approach mass culture as though it’s run by reasonable adults.  It’s the mob, and must be treated as such—loved, but not negotiated or reasoned with.

I am the reasonable adult.  In some ways this is a small death because it places an awful lot of responsibility on your shoulders.  But it is also a huge relief to be able to say unshakeably:  I know X for certain, and I don’t need anyone else’s opinion to validate that.

Here is what I wrote at Ace’s:

If you’re a dude and this pisses you off, good. That means you’re sane. Part of your purpose on this earth is to survey this feminine tendency to self-destruction, shake your head, and say, “No. This is madness that can only lead to suffering and sorrow. I will not allow it.”

Faith before fear.


In the science fiction TV series Firefly, a girl with psychic powers is about to be burned at the stake by backward townsfolk that believe she’s a witch.  Her doctor brother, after trying in vain to talk down the witch hunters, steps on to the platform to burn with her.  It’s a very touching scene.

…Until the captain of their ship shows up and says, in effect, “Yeah this is tender and all, but how about instead of you two burning to death I have my buddy train a giant gun on everyone and we avoid all this.  And by the way you guys are all hicks.”

Notice the music change when the ship appears.  This is a frame change.  Like a woman awash in her own storm of emotions, the doctor and his sister are caught up in their own internal preparations for dramatic and noble death.  Then the captain and first mate show up trading one-liners and just overriding the situation.

I almost wrote a phrase here: “This is crack to chicks.”  But that’s not quite true.  a) The emotional obsessing beforehand  is crack to chicks, not the rescue, and b) crack is badthat’s the whole point!


 

A final observation, from the second clip:

Townsman: The girl is a witch!

Captain Fillion: Yeah, but she’s our witch. (cocks shotgun) So cut her the hell down!

Here it bears mentioning that the girl is kind of crazy.  She’s murdered a few people.  It would not be insane for her to be thinking, “Yeah, I deserve to be burned here.”

In a world without Christ, this would be the plight of all humanity.  “Why reach toward God?  We are forever unworthy.”

Christ replies, “Yeah, but you’re My  unworthy people.  So start acting like it!”

Also.

7 Comments

  1. Stingray says:

    I read this yesterday and have been thinking about it quite a bit. Then I read this, this morning. It’s a classic shit-test. Notice how she goes away, calms herself and then acts like nothing happened. She’s happy. That bit of drama brought her a kick of that she needed and then brought her happiness afterward.

    If he failed the shit-test it likely would have exploded. More drama. Does this make her happy? In a weird sense, it might, but we all know long term it does not bring actual happiness. It brings strife.
    But, look at one more thing. Look how happy the husband is at the end. She bumped him, got her fix, and now they are both happy. He passed, he grew, and he learned. She pushed and was held in place.

    The test might be like crack and yes, it is crazy, but it works and when he held, it works for both of them.

    I’ve thought about this a lot but never said much because it comes across, from a woman, as a justification. I don’t mean it that way, but when a woman tests like this, it has the potential to sharpen her man. Is this why we do it? I don’t know. Is it crazy? From the viewpoint of a man, yes it is. But is there something to it? Men love women and it is for more than looks. Looks gets us noticed. But once that is satisfied, what keeps the men around? What makes a man fall in love?

  2. It’s always a pleasure when you stop by, Stingray. While you’re here I should mention that I sent my little sister your post “Being Woman” and she loved it.

    This post was…not suitable for all audiences. Nor was it complete. I could just have reasonably said “Because men wimp out and fail shit tests,” instead of “Because women are crazy,” for instance.

    Also left unsaid is that God made women as well as men, and He doesn’t make mistakes.

    I think you’re on to something that shit tests, handled well, can have a salutory effect on a marriage. In some way that I don’t care enough right now to figure out and diagram, shit tests and normal flirting are probably on a spectrum with each other.

    I also suspect that a woman without the urge to shit-test would seem off in some other way I can’t predict.

    This post represents not so much my thoughts about women, so much as it’s about me raging at and then recognizing the giant shit test thrown at all of us by society and culture. I’d like to think I’ve grown from the thought process described in this post, and perhaps that is an example of the growth dynamic you describe.

    Good to hear from you.

  3. Stingray says:

    shit tests and normal flirting are probably on a spectrum with each other.

    Oh, without question they are. Shit tests can be absolutely fun, when they are meant to be that way. I just think the word teasing is better because it makes things far less confusing.

    I also suspect that a woman without the urge to shit-test would seem off in some other way I can’t predict.

    They would start to become to man like.

    then recognizing the giant shit test thrown at all of us by society and culture.

    The funny thing about this is, as a group women lobbed a giant shit test at men and the men failed and no, just like in a relationship, neither are happy. Women are self reporting far decreased happiness and are overly medicated and mens’ suicide rates are through the roof.

    The alt-right is starting to pass these tests now. Time will tell where this will go.

    I meant to say before, I’m really glad that your sister liked that post. I hope it helps her in some way.

  4. jeff says:

    Shit tests might be the norm, but that doesn’t mean they are God inspired or “ok”. Even if a woman’s man passes her shit tests doesn’t mean it is ok. If that were the case Christ himself is failing shit tests when we rebel.

    No, Christ flipped over tables… fail. Made sarcastic comments to Pharisees, Chastised the church when they forgot their first love. Flipping a table over is what a husband does when he’s lost it. It is called righteous anger.

    To get things on track we need to do less passing of shit tests and tell women and girls to sit down and STFU. Passing shit tests will not bring patriarchy back or any resemblance of husbands and men being in charge. The only thing passing shit tests does is put a smile on the FI face and allow them to test you while you are busy fixing the problems they’ve created.

  5. djz242013 says:

    I can tell how hard, or at least unnatural, it is for seriouslypleasedropit to be upbeat. That said, glad you’re trying. Hope and Christ go hand in hand, after all.

    1. Oh dear, that’s probably a more damning indictment than you intend. 🙂

      It is not this blog’s purpose to marinate in the depressing. I’d urge anyone whose life feels shadowed by reading it to stop, and invite some friends over for dinner.

      If it is downcast, I hope it would be like Nephi, who, for my non-LDS readers, was a great hero and prophet. Nephi spends most of his time being inhumanly righteous and obedient to the Lord, but he does have one chapter that shows he’s in fact mortal:

      Behold, my soul delighteth in the things of the Lord; and my heart pondereth continually upon the things which I have seen and heard.

      Nevertheless, notwithstanding the great goodness of the Lord, in showing me his great and marvelous works, my heart exclaimeth: O wretched man that I am! Yea, my heart sorroweth because of my flesh; my soul grieveth because of mine iniquities.

      I am encompassed about, because of the temptations and the sins which do so easily beset me.

      And when I desire to rejoice, my heart groaneth because of my sins; nevertheless, I know in whom I have trusted.

      And then, a bit later, as he pulls himself out of his funk:

      Awake, my soul! No longer droop in sin. Rejoice, O my heart, and give place no more for the enemy of my soul.

      Do not anger again because of mine enemies. Do not slacken my strength because of mine afflictions.

      Rejoice, O my heart, and cry unto the Lord, and say: O Lord, I will praise thee forever; yea, my soul will rejoice in thee, my God, and the rock of my salvation.

      O Lord, wilt thou redeem my soul? Wilt thou deliver me out of the hands of mine enemies? Wilt thou make me that I may shake at the appearance of sin?

      May the gates of hell be shut continually before me, because that my heart is broken and my spirit is contrite! O Lord, wilt thou not shut the gates of thy righteousness before me, that I may walk in the path of the low valley, that I may be strict in the plain road!

      O Lord, wilt thou encircle me around in the robe of thy righteousness! O Lord, wilt thou make a way for mine escape before mine enemies! Wilt thou make my path straight before me! Wilt thou not place a stumbling block in my way—but that thou wouldst clear my way before me, and hedge not up my way, but the ways of mine enemy.

      O Lord, I have trusted in thee, and I will trust in thee forever. I will not put my trust in the arm of flesh; for I know that cursed is he that putteth his trust in the arm of flesh. Yea, cursed is he that putteth his trust in man or maketh flesh his arm.

      Yea, I know that God will give liberally to him that asketh. Yea, my God will give me, if I ask not amiss; therefore I will lift up my voice unto thee; yea, I will cry unto thee, my God, the rock of my righteousness. Behold, my voice shall forever ascend up unto thee, my rock and mine everlasting God. Amen.

      (I was going to write something here to comment on it, but frankly I think it stands up pretty well by itself.)

  6. PeterW. says:

    Whenever someone talks about reality returning, I am reminded of Kipling’s “The Gods of the Copybook Headings”. In some ways, it is another version of, “there is nothing new under the sun”.

    Copybook headings, of course, being the lines that we repeat again and again down the page, until we get them RIGHT!

    Last two verses.

    As it will be in the future, it was at the birth of Man
    There are only four things certain since Social Progress began.
    That the Dog returns to his Vomit and the Sow returns to her Mire,
    And the burnt Fool’s bandaged finger goes wabbling back to the Fire;

    And that after this is accomplished, and the brave new world begins
    When all men are paid for existing and no man must pay for his sins,
    As surely as Water will wet us, as surely as Fire will burn,
    The Gods of the Copybook Headings with terror and slaughter return!

Leave a Comment